MSc Complete!

I just got confirmation of my Open University MSc. I was pleased with the dissertation, although the title was not very elegant:

Hybrid Embryos: Political Values and Debate

How the ethical judgments and arguments of politicians respond to scientific developments and how this affects progress in resolving ethical dilemma

I compared the debates in the UK House of Commons over hybrid embryos with the debate in the US House of Representatives over stem cell research and tried to identify themes in the arguments in the voting patterns and arguments that politicians used.  To my surprise there was little evidence of politicians suffering from lack of scientific knowledge.  What interested me most was the very small role that religion played in either debate.  I expected that in the UK – but not in the USA.

3 Responses to “MSc Complete!”


  1. 1 Toronto December 22, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Congratulations!

  2. 2 Alan Fox January 27, 2011 at 8:51 am

    Yes, well done, Mark. The Open University has proved a great idea. A friend has just completed her French Diploma so I have an inkling of the self-discipline needed. I thought of having a go and was shocked to find for a non-resident the fees make it pretty unjustifiable.


Leave a Reply

